READING & WRITING
ONLINE SUMMER CAMPS

World-Renowned Educators
Working with Your Child

How To Eat a Poem: Poetry Book Club

How To Eat a Poem: Poetry Book Club

Instructor: Georgia Heard

Elementary School, Grades 3–6

July 27 – July 31

Poems can wake us up, make us laugh out loud, jump for joy, see the world in a new way, and communicate with the deepest parts of ourselves. Each meeting, we’ll read one or two poems from a short anthology I’ll create. It will include poems in different voices, styles and forms. We’ll have conversations about the poems, and experiment with ways of understanding and going deeper into a poem’s meaning such as writing off of a poem, and illustrating a poem’s imagery. We’ll discuss the emotional impact of a poem as well as other elements such as:

  • Topic choice
  • Word choice
  • Rhythm
  • Line breaks and stanza
  • Title
  • Form
  • Punctuation

We are where you are!

ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is global.

Check out what time it will be in various parts of the world when this camp meets.

Here are the specifics for this camp:

See if there’s a time zone that works for you!

ONE WEEK

FIVE MEETINGS

60 MINUTES EACH

MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY

  • 6 AM – 7 AM Honolulu
  • 7 AM – 8 AM Anchorage
  • 8 AM – 9 AM Los Angeles, Seattle, Phoenix, Vancouver
  • 9 AM – 10 PM Denver, Salt Lake City, Albuquerque, Edmonton
  • 10 AM – 11 AM Chicago, Houston, Mexico City, Bogota, Quito, Lima, Winnipeg
  • 11 AM – 12 PM New York, Detroit, Atlanta, Caracas, La Paz, Toronto, Montreal
  • 12 PM – 1 PM Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo
  • 3 PM – 4 PM Accra, Reykjavik
  • 4 PM – 5 PM London, Dublin, Lisbon, Casablanca, Tunis
  • 5 PM – 6 PM Paris, Stockholm, Berlin, Warsaw, Cairo, Lagos, Johannesburg
  • 7 PM – 8 PM Moscow, Nairobi, Istanbul, Doha

Instructor Bio: Georgia Heard

Georgia Heard is a renowned poet and teacher of poetry writing. Her newest children’s book is Boom! Bellow! Bleat!: Animal Poems for Two Or More Voices. Georgia is also the author of many books for teachers on teaching writing, such as For the Good of the Earth and Sun and Awakening the Heart. She brings a poet’s ear and a teacher’s know-how to every aspect of writing instruction. Georgia has been working with children since the day when, while an MFA student at Columbia University’s Program in Writing, she was invited to talk about poetry with kindergarteners in Brooklyn and was astounded by the beauty of the poems those young students shared with her. She has a son in college and lives in South Florida, where she loves to walk on the beach and search for sea glass.