READING & WRITING
ONLINE SUMMER CAMPS

World-Renowned Educators
Working with Your Child

I Can See That! A Graphic Novel Reading Club

I Can See That! A Graphic Novel Reading Club

Instructor: Kathy Collins

Elementary School, Grades 3-5

August 3 – August 7

Sometimes grown-ups think graphic novels don’t count as “real reading,” but that’s just not true! Graphic novels are fun and challenging, and they give readers so much to think about and talk about with each other. In this Reading Club, you’ll read graphic novels and meet with other kids to talk about them; you’ll learn pro-tips for reading graphic novels; and you’ll become stronger at reading anything!

Before this camp begins, campers should get any one of the following graphic novels: Stargazing by Jen Wang, Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell, Doodleville by Chad Sell, Sidekicks by David Santat, Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger, or another graphic novel of their choice. These books can be purchased on Amazon, or downloaded on Amazon Kindle.

We are where you are!

ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is global.

Check out what time it will be in various parts of the world when this camp meets.

Here are the specifics for this camp:

See if there’s a time zone that works for you!

ONE WEEKS

FIVE MEETINGS

60 MINUTES EACH

MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY

  • 8 AM – 9 AM Chicago, Houston, Mexico City, Bogota, Lima, Winnipeg
  • 9 AM – 10 AM New York, Detroit, Atlanta, Caracas, La Paz, Toronto, Montreal
  • 10 AM – 11 AM Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo
  • 1 PM – 2 PM Accra, Reykjavik
  • 2 PM – 3 PM London, Dublin, Lisbon, Casablanca
  • 3 PM – 4 PM Paris, Stockholm, Berlin, Warsaw, Cairo, Lagos, Johannesburg
  • 4 PM – 5 PM Moscow, Nairobi, Istanbul, Doha
  • 5 PM – 6 PM Dubai
  • 6:30 PM – 7:30 PM Delhi

Instructor Bio: Kathy Collins

Kathy Collins is an international consultant and author of books on teaching students reading skills that lead them to independence, intention and joy as readers including Growing Readers, Reading for Real, and I Am Reading (with coauthor Matt Glover). Teachers flock to her workshops because she’s insightful and funny and, with practical examples and accessible metaphors always up her sleeve, gets concepts across easily. Kathy always wanted to be a teacher. “I used to fantasize about wearing a masking tape roll on my wrist, writing on a chalkboard and collecting book order money.” These days, she says: “I love wrapping my mind around a child in order to figure out how best to meet their learning needs and support their hopes for themselves.” She lives in New Hampshire and has two teenage boys, one of whom has Type 1 diabetes. Kathy likes to read and to run, and is trying to learn how to knit, cook and speak Spanish.