READING & WRITING
ONLINE SUMMER CAMPS

World-Renowned Educators
Working with Your Child

Nature Writing (Right Out Your Door)

Nature Writing (Right Out Your Door)

Instructor: Chris Hall

Middle School, Grades 6-8

August 3 – August 7

You don’t need a national park or backcountry wilderness at your doorstep to be a nature writer. For this class, we will venture outdoors and write about what we see, hear, feel, and experience – whether it’s on walk in your neighborhood, a stroll through a city park, or a tromp in the woods. We will be reading selections from inspiring mentor texts and writing poems and shorter pieces of our own each day. Plan to get outside for some quickwrites, sound walks, sensory expeditions, haikus, and much more – all while improving your writing skills in a fun, engaging way. We will come back together each class to share, confer, revise, and celebrate our writing.

We are where you are!

ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is global.

Check out what time it will be in various parts of the world when this camp meets.

Here are the specifics for this camp:

See if there’s a time zone that works for you!

ONE WEEK

FIVE MEETINGS

60 MINUTES EACH

MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY

  • 6 AM – 7 AM Los Angeles, Seattle, Phoenix, Vancouver
  • 7 AM – 8 AM Denver, Salt Lake City, Albuquerque, Edmonton
  • 8 AM – 9 AM Chicago, Houston, Mexico City, Bogota, Quito, Lima, Winnipeg
  • 9 AM – 10 AM New York, Detroit, Atlanta, Caracas, La Paz, Toronto, Montreal
  • 10 AM – 11 AM Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo
  • 1 PM – 2 PM Accra, Reykjavik
  • 2 PM – 3 PM London, Dublin, Lisbon, Casablanca, Tunis
  • 3 PM – 4 PM Paris, Stockholm, Berlin, Warsaw, Cairo, Lagos, Johannesburg
  • 4 PM – 5 PM Moscow, Nairobi, Istanbul, Doha
  • 5 PM – 6 PM Dubai
  • 6:30 PM – 7:30 PM Delhi
  • 7 PM – 8 PM Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta
  • 8 PM – 9 PM Hong Kong, Beijing, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur
  • 9 PM – 10 PM Tokyo, Seoul

Instructor Bio: Chris Hall

Chris Hall has been a middle-school language arts teacher for over 20 years, working in public and private schools in the U.S. and internationally. He served as a Heinemann Fellow from 2016-18, collaborating with 10 other innovative educators from around the country. Chris has presented workshops about writing at national conferences, published numerous articles for teachers, and is currently writing a book for Heinemann about helping students overcome resistance to revision. He leads an action research group in his school district, inviting educators to examine their own teaching and breathe new life into their practice. Chris lives in seacoast New Hampshire with his wife, two daughters, and West Highland terrier, and he loves hiking with this crew in the White Mountains.