READING & WRITING
ONLINE SUMMER CAMPS

World-Renowned Educators
Working with Your Child

Write What You Love: Creating Independent Writing Projects 2

Write What You Love:
Creating Independent Writing Projects

Instructor: Matt Glover

Elementary School, Grades 3-5

August 3 – August 7

During school, children often don’t have much freedom as writers. In this camp, children will be excited to write because they get to decide they type of writing they’ll do (which genre), and the topic they’ll write about. Matt will support campers in choosing genres, finding real world examples of those genres, and studying published authors who write in the genre they’ve chosen. Matt will confer with individual students as they find ideas, plan, write, and revise. The goal is for students to deepen their love of writing by writing what they want with practical support for making their writing better. On the last day, students have a writing celebration and read their writing aloud.

We are where you are!

ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is global.

Check out what time it will be in various parts of the world when this camp meets.

Here are the specifics for this camp:

See if there’s a time zone that works for you!

ONE WEEK

FIVE MEETINGS

75 MINUTES EACH

MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY Exceptions noted below

  • 8 AM – 9:15 AM Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta
  • 9 AM – 10:15 AM Hong Kong, Beijing, Singapore
  • 10 AM – 11:15 AM Tokyo, Seoul
  • 11 AM – 12:15 PM Melbourne, Sydney
  • 1 PM – 2:15 PM Auckland

Times below are the previous day.

In these time zones, camp runs Sunday through Thursday.

  • 3 PM – 4:15 PM Honolulu
  • 5 PM – 6:15 PM Anchorage
  • 6 PM – 7:15 PM Los Angeles, Seattle, Phoenix, Vancouver
  • 7 PM – 8:15 PM Denver, Salt Lake City, Albuquerque, Edmonton

Instructor Bio: Matt Glover

A former elementary school teacher and principal, Matt Glover is an internationally-known education consultant and the author of six books on teaching reading and writing, including Craft and Process Studies and Engaging Young Writers. Matt has decades of experience working with students at all ability levels, meeting them where they are as learners, and accelerating their learning. Not only respected for his vast knowledge, Matt is also known across the field for his demeanor. Warm, soft-spoken and confident, Matt has a wonderful way with children, and the precision of his work is matched by his passion. Matt is a recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award for Contributions to the Field of Education from Wake Forest University, his undergraduate alma mater. He lives in Ohio and has four children – a son who recently graduated from college, a daughter who is a college senior, and twin daughters who are in high school.