READING & WRITING
ONLINE SUMMER CAMPS

World-Renowned Educators
Working with Your Child

Write Your Own Comic (for beginners) 3

Write Your Own Comic (for beginners)

Instructor: Jessica Martin

Grades 3-7

August 3 – August 7

Study the art of visual storytelling through the writing of your own comic strip. Grab your pencil, paper, eraser, or your favorite digital drawing app and let’s get creative. Writers will learn basic drawing techniques, create an original character, and draft a story script for their character. Once the script is ready, writers will learn how to create a storyboard layout, draw the comic, color the images, add lettering, and publish your comic.

We are where you are!

ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is global.

Check out what time it will be in various parts of the world when this camp meets.

Here are the specifics for this camp:

See if there’s a time zone that works for you!

ONE WEEK

FIVE MEETINGS

75 MINUTES EACH

MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY

  • 7 AM – 8:15 AM Honolulu
  • 9 AM – 10:15 AM Anchorage
  • 10 AM – 11:15 AM Los Angeles, Seattle, Phoenix, Vancouver
  • 11 AM – 12:15 PM Denver, Salt Lake City, Albuquerque, Edmonton
  • 12 PM – 1:15 PM Chicago, Houston, Mexico City, Bogota, Quito, Lima, Winnipeg
  • 1 PM – 2:15 PM New York, Detroit, Atlanta, Caracas, La Paz, Toronto, Montreal
  • 2 PM – 3:15 PM Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo
  • 5 PM – 6:15 PM Accra, Reykjavik
  • 6 PM – 7:15 PM London, Dublin, Lisbon, Casablanca, Tunis
  • 7 PM – 8:15 PM Paris, Stockholm, Berlin, Warsaw, Cairo, Lagos, Johannesburg
  • 8 PM – 9:15 PM Moscow, Nairobi, Istanbul, Doha
  • 9 PM – 10:15 PM Dubai
  • 10:30 PM – 11:45 PM Delhi

Instructor Bio: Jessica Martin

Jessica Martin a former classroom teacher, staff developer at the Teachers College Reading and Writing Project and resident advisor at UCLA’s Teacher Education Program, is the author of the book, Strategic Classroom Design. She is the CEO of the education consulting organization Growing Educators. Jessica is grateful for the opportunity to collaborate with educators and learning communities committed to co-creating incredible spaces, amplifying student voices, and implementing equitable learning opportunities for all learners. When she is not in schools, you can usually find her with her four kids – 14-year-old twins, a 12-year-old and a 9-year-old – at the beach, shooting hoops in the driveway, or watching and drawing cartoons at home in Los Angeles.