READING & WRITING
ONLINE SUMMER CAMPS

World-Renowned Educators
Working with Your Child

Write Your Own Realistic Fiction Story!

Write Your Own Realistic Fiction Story!

Instructor: Carl Anderson

Elementary School, Grades 4-6

August 3 – August 7

In this camp, you’ll write realistic fiction. Kids all over the world love to write in this genre because it’s fun to use your imagination to create characters, settings and plots. It’s also a great genre because it gives you a chance to imagine what it’s like to be someone else, and to empathize with what that character is going through – a skill that we all need to develop to be good citizens of the world. During the week, you read and study some model short stories to get ideas for how you can craft your writing. And then you work through the entire writing process, from brainstorming ideas, to writing and revising a story that you’ll be sharing with the other campers in a writing celebration on the last day of camp. By the end of the week, not only will you have written a realistic fiction story, you’ll have learned writing skills you can use whenever you write!

We are where you are!

ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is global.

Check out what time it will be in various parts of the world when this camp meets.

Here are the specifics for this camp:

See if there’s a time zone that works for you!

ONE WEEK

FIVE MEETINGS

75 MINUTES EACH

MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY

  • 6 AM – 7:15 AM Honolulu
  • 7 AM – 8:15 AM Anchorage
  • 8 AM – 9:15 AM Los Angeles, Seattle, Phoenix, Vancouver
  • 9 AM – 10:15 AM Denver, Salt Lake City, Albuquerque, Edmonton
  • 10 AM – 11:15 AM Chicago, Houston, Mexico City, Bogota, Quito, Lima, Winnipeg
  • 11 AM – 12:15 PM New York, Detroit, Atlanta, Caracas, La Paz, Toronto, Montreal
  • 12 PM – 1:15 PM Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo
  • 3 PM – 4:15 PM Accra, Reykjavik
  • 4 PM – 5:15 PM London, Dublin, Lisbon, Casablanca, Tunis
  • 5 PM – 6:15 PM Paris, Stockholm, Berlin, Warsaw, Cairo, Lagos, Johannesburg
  • 6 PM – 7:15 PM Istanbul, Doha, Nairobi, Moscow

Instructor Bio: Carl Anderson

Carl Anderson, one of the co-founders of ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is a consultant known around the world as the expert on how to work one-to-one with writers in kindergarten through 12th grade. For nearly two decades, teachers have turned to his bestselling book, How’s It Going? A Practical Guide to Conferring with Student Writers, to learn how to have powerful conversations with students about their writing. Carl is also the author of Assessing Writers, Strategic Writing Conferences, and A Teacher’s Guide to Writing Conferences. Teachers relish the chance to improve how they confer with young writers by watching Carl do so, and by getting his feedback after he watches them confer. In his years teaching elementary and middle school, Carl worked in many settings – urban, small town, and suburban, from the Bronx, to Bardstown, Kentucky, where he was Teacher of the Year, to Northbrook, Illinois. Carl lives in Brooklyn with his family. He enjoys sailing, cooking, playing his guitar, coaching Little League baseball and serving on the board of SFX Youth Sports.