READING & WRITING
ONLINE SUMMER CAMPS

World-Renowned Educators
Working with Your Child

Write Your Story!

Write Your Story!

Instructor: Carl Anderson

Middle School, Grades 6-8

July 20 – July 24

In Carl’s camp, you’ll learn how to write important stories from your life. On a personal level, writing these stories helps you figure out important things about who you are and what you’ve been through in your life so far. Also, learning how to write these stories gives you practice in something you’ll be asked to do many times in the future, when you apply to schools or even apply to jobs! During the week, you will study model texts to get ideas from other authors about how to craft your story. And then you’ll work through the entire writing process, from brainstorming ideas, to writing and revising a story. You’ll share your story with the other campers in a writing celebration on the last day of the camp. By the end of the week, not only will you have written an important life story, you’ll have learned writing skills you can use whenever you write.

We are where you are!

ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is global.

Check out what time it will be in various parts of the world when this camp meets.

Here are the specifics for this camp:

See if there’s a time zone that works for you!

ONE WEEK

FIVE MEETINGS

75 MINUTES EACH

MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY Exceptions noted below

  • 8 AM – 9:15 AM Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta
  • 9 AM – 10:15 AM Hong Kong, Beijing, Singapore
  • 10 AM – 11:15 AM Tokyo, Seoul
  • 11 AM – 12:15 PM Melbourne, Sydney
  • 1 PM – 2:15 PM Auckland

Times below are the previous day.

In these time zones, camp runs Sunday through Thursday.

  • 3 PM – 4:15 PM Honolulu
  • 5 PM – 6:15 PM Anchorage
  • 6 PM – 7:15 PM Los Angeles, Seattle, Phoenix, Vancouver
  • 7 PM – 8:15 PM Denver, Salt Lake City, Albuquerque, Edmonton
  • 8 PM – 9:15 PM Chicago, Houston, Mexico City, Bogota, Lima, Winnipeg
  • 9 PM – 10:15 PM New York, Detroit, Atlanta, Caracas, La Paz, Toronto, Montreal

Instructor Bio: Carl Anderson

Carl Anderson, one of the co-founders of ONLINE CAMPS INTERNATIONAL is a consultant known around the world as the expert on how to work one-to-one with writers in kindergarten through 12th grade. For nearly two decades, teachers have turned to his bestselling book, How’s It Going? A Practical Guide to Conferring with Student Writers, to learn how to have powerful conversations with students about their writing. Carl is also the author of Assessing Writers, Strategic Writing Conferences, and A Teacher’s Guide to Writing Conferences. Teachers relish the chance to improve how they confer with young writers by watching Carl do so, and by getting his feedback after he watches them confer. In his years teaching elementary and middle school, Carl worked in many settings – urban, small town, and suburban, from the Bronx, to Bardstown, Kentucky, where he was Teacher of the Year, to Northbrook, Illinois. Carl lives in Brooklyn with his family. He enjoys sailing, cooking, playing his guitar, coaching Little League baseball and serving on the board of SFX Youth Sports.